Things that make me feel old (and young) – Part 2

Last month, I had fun making a list of things that make me feel old, and then balancing it out with things that make me feel young.  I thought of more things to add to the list.  Unfortunately, it’s a lot easier to come up with things that make me feel old than things that make me feel young 🙂

Things that make me feel old:

  1. Pulling a muscle putting on my tennis shoe
  2. Getting an e-mail with the letters “ROTFLOL” in it and Google has to tell me what it means
  3. Realizing said e-mail was from my MOM!
  4. Being passed on a hiking trail by a white haired man with a walking stick.  Could’ve been a cane, but that sounds so much worse.  It was definitely a walking stick 🙂
  5. Skinny jeans (do I really need to say any more?)

Things that make me feel young:

  1. Reading Goosebumps books with my son…and enjoying them
  2. Eating hot fudge sundaes …with whipped cream and sprinkles
  3. Hanging out with friends – no children
  4. Writing (it’s been a passion since high school)
  5. Remembering addition, subtraction and multiplication enough to help my son with grade school homework.  (When he gets to Algebra, I’m outta here…letters belong in the alphabet, not math).
8 thoughts on “Things that make me feel old (and young) – Part 2

  1. chalaedra May 23, 2010 / 9:51 AM

    I’m smiling at your list of things that make you feel old and guessing you are probably in your thirties. If it’s any consolation, the list of things that made me feel old when I was in my thirties was much longer than the list that made me feel young!

    Hang in there. It gets easier as you go. I’m approaching the big six-oh now, and the list of things that make me feel old hasn’t really grown much in the last 30 years, but the list of things that make me feel young? That one continues to grow as I do!

    • jannatwrites May 23, 2010 / 1:20 PM

      Good guess! (Closer to 40 than 30, but I don’t feel like it). I like the idea that the ‘young’ list surpasses the ‘old’ list as you age; I was worried that, in time, I wouldn’t be able to think of anything that made me feel young. Thank you!

      • chalaedra May 26, 2010 / 6:44 AM

        It’s important not to dwell on those things that make you feel old! LOL You are about the same age as my daughter, and she’s been going through aging pains the last couple of years. She presented me with my first grandchild when I was only 43! Now it’s her turn to feel the “pressure” as her daughter matures all too quickly!

        • jannatwrites May 26, 2010 / 8:14 PM

          Wow! 43 is young to be a grandma…I guess we all struggle to some degree with life changes as we age.

  2. chalaedra May 30, 2010 / 5:26 AM

    Yeah, that’s what I thought at the time, as though becoming a grandmother was going to make me into an old woman before my time! I soon learned why that idea was all wet. Holding my very first granddaughter in my arms made me feel young and alive and gave me something to look forward to again! Maybe that’s why so many people are enamored of their grandkids?

  3. bookjunkie January 16, 2011 / 9:38 AM

    This list is just the coolest. I have written about things that make me feel old but I never thought about the things that make me feel young before. I don’t have kids but one of them is just playing with my friend’s children. Their joy just translates. Children find the joy in the littlest of things and it reminds me of how incredible life is.

    • jannatwrites January 16, 2011 / 11:51 PM

      Thanks, Bookjunkie! I’m so glad you liked the list. The main reason I did the ‘young’ list was to pick me back up after I knocked myself down.

      I agree with your comments about children. They are entertaining!

Got an opinion? Share it!

