Find Passion, Live Life (And Write)!

 

Writing
Writing Poem

Recently, I’ve encountered two people with obvious enthusiasm about their work and a positive outlook on life in general.  I think everyone should have something they are passionate about because it makes life more meaningful.

First, I spoke with a co-worker who said he couldn’t imagine doing anything else.  The second encounter happened a couple days later.  A sales woman remembered me from several months ago – she called me because she received an item I’d been looking for.  Wow!  When I told her of my surprise that she remembered me, she exclaimed, “I love what I do; it’s my passion!”  She didn’t just say it; she felt it.

This is how I feel about writing.  Even though I don’t get paid, I look forward to writing every day.  Both people inspire me to keep this in mind when I get overwhelmed with my own doubts.  Sometimes I get too bogged down with the fact that I’m not (and may never be) published – I try to remind myself that publication isn’t necessary for personal satisfaction.   In fact, by focusing on publication, the pressure to avoid failure threatens to  spoil the whole experience.  I’m a goal driven person and I have to work at striking a balance.

That being said, publication still remains my long-term goal 🙂 What can I say, I must enjoy self-inflicted torture!

5 thoughts on “Find Passion, Live Life (And Write)!

  1. Pooja May 10, 2010 / 9:04 PM

    And there, with that thought, we have a huge similarity – we share the same passion!

    Am sure with your persistence, you shall win yourself the publishing gig.

    With luck and love as ever,
    -BrownEyed.

    • jannatwrites May 10, 2010 / 9:09 PM

      As always, I appreciate your support and kind comments. As my son would say, “You rock!”

  2. chlost May 11, 2010 / 7:33 PM

    With such passion, the goals come naturally.

    take care of yourself

  3. milkfever May 13, 2010 / 8:21 PM

    Hi Janna, loved the image of the pig and lipstick. It probably comes down to finding the right colour to match the pig’s skin tone. But then I’m no expert.
    Many a page has blurred before my eyes like the one above,until the words become a foreign language and the brain is pulp.
    Make yourself a cuppa and rest the eyes. But don’t give up on the publishing dream whatever you do. My favourite saying is: “you can not fail, unless you quit.”
    So hang in there my fellow writer,
    Lisa

    • jannatwrites May 13, 2010 / 10:34 PM

      Lisa- thanks for the words of encouragement; some days I’m ready to say ‘forget it!’ but ultimately, I come back. I like your saying; definitely one I’ll look back on to keep me going.

Got an opinion? Share it!

