Mothers – 365 Days of Really Hard Work…1 Day of Recognition

Picture
Mother's Day Picture

Lately, I’ve felt like being a Mom is a job that I need more training for.  Many times I’ve asked myself “What am I doing?”  I’ve been hard on myself, thinking of all the things I’ve done wrong; the times I’ve yelled when I should have taken a deep breath, the times I’ve rushed to get somewhere when I should have stopped and listened, the times I’ve been annoyed when I should have stopped to enjoy the gifts God has given me.  Maybe recognition is the first step to change.

This morning, my older child got up early and (with Daddy’s help) made pancakes with fruit for breakfast in bed.  Even though we were out late yesterday spending time with my Mom for Mother’s Day, I recognized the sweetness of the gesture.  So what if my eyes could barely see the heart-shaped pancake; I felt the love. 

He gave me a gift he made at school and I almost cried.  He wrote a fill-in-the blank book that was so special.  I learned some things.  Apparently, I would most like to vacation in Alberta, Canada – I did not know this until today.  I also found out that our time reading together really matters to him because he wrote about it three times in the book.  I realized he knows me, even if he doesn’t listen to me much of the time.  He correctly named my favorite color as purple, favorite candy as Reese’s and favorite lunch at Red Lobster as popcorn shrimp.

His words help me understand that even though I’m not a perfect Mom (nowhere close), I do have a positive impact on him.  With a little patience and a lot of love, he’ll be okay.  And, with a little less guilt, I’ll be okay too.

I should note that during all of this, my younger son still slept soundly in bed- he had the right idea.

Happy Mother’s Day to all of the hard-working, underappreciated, early rising mothers – enjoy your day (because it’s business as usual tomorrow)!

4 thoughts on “Mothers – 365 Days of Really Hard Work…1 Day of Recognition

  1. Brown Eyed Mystic May 9, 2010 / 4:36 PM

    Aww…The sweetest post I’ve read in days! Thanks Janna, for sharing. And I understand what you mean when you say it’s tough to be a mom; after all, though I am not a mom, I do have one. 🙂
    Happy Mother’s Day!

    -BrownEyed

    • jannatwrites May 9, 2010 / 7:24 PM

      BrownEyed-
      I’m glad you liked the post. I go through phases when I think about how many ways I can accidentally mess my children up. So, when I see moments where it looks like they’ll be okay (despite my ineptness) I latch onto them!

  2. chlost May 9, 2010 / 9:03 PM

    The job description is one no sane person would apply for,let alone accept witout tough negotiations, but which is the best I’ve ever had. Of course, the worst part is that the whole goal of the job is to make your position obsolete (at least on a daily basis!). Glad you enjoyed a nice Mother’s Day

    • jannatwrites May 9, 2010 / 9:32 PM

      Chlost-
      You’re right- had I read the ‘Mom’ job description, I’d have laughed and kept on going; but I would have missed so much.

      Try to think of it as the job duties changing, not being forced into retirement. I hope you had a good Mother’s Day too!

Got an opinion? Share it!

