Literary Agent Search Process

When I started this blog, I thought it would be fun to not only blog about writing in general, but to document the road from unknown writer to published author.  Not whining, or slamming agents that reject me, but a positive look at what I learn as I blindly go through the process. 

I’ve read a lot of literary agent blogs and one in particular made me stop and think.  Kristin Nelson (Nelson Literary Agency) brought up the point that if she checked out a blog where a person had a lot of rejections, she might be less likely to say ‘yes’ to a project.  Good point. 

I have yet to begin querying, but I hope to get there soon.  Until I have an agent and publishing deal, I won’t write about the query process.  There are two agent blogs I check almost every day.  If I ever get the courage, I’d like to submit my query to them.  If you haven’t already, I recommend checking them out.  Janet Reid’s blog has TONS of information on the query process.  Reading Query Shark is a must!

Kristen Nelson (Nelson Literary Agency) – http://pubrants.blogspot.com/

Janet Reid (Fine Print Literary Management) – http://jetreidliterary.blogspot.com/

7 thoughts on “Literary Agent Search Process

  1. Lavender Blue September 3, 2010 / 10:39 PM

    Thanks for this information. I’m looking for an agent, rather – I’d like to be looking for an agent. Good luck to you and to me 😉

    • jannatwrites September 3, 2010 / 11:58 PM

      Hey, glad you stopped by (and found something useful)! Another helpful site I’ve found is QueryTracker.net. They have a blog, forums where you can post queries, synopsis, first five pages, etc. for critique. They also have an agent database where you can find and research agents that represent the genre you do.

      I do wish you luck 🙂

  2. Bill Greeves October 13, 2010 / 7:07 PM

    Excellent recommendations – thanks very much! I’ve just begun the agent querying process myself. I’ve been chronicling my writing journey as well – not as a “how to” guide necessarily but rather a journal of the journey really. I intend to document the good, the bad and the dumb things I manage to do in the process. Good luck to both of us!

    • jannatwrites October 13, 2010 / 9:34 PM

      Welcome to my writing area – I’m glad you found something useful. Good luck to you on your query journey!

  3. Matt Knox September 4, 2012 / 4:58 AM

    Thanks for the infor. I’m currently writing my first novel and I think i’ll deffinatly be sending out letters to agents before I decide to distribute my book online or through another publishing company 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 4, 2012 / 7:15 PM

      Good luck with the writing – and the query process, too, Matt! Perseverance is key 🙂

      • Matt Knox September 5, 2012 / 3:00 AM

        Thank you 🙂 I’m really looking forward to it.

Got an opinion? Share it!

