Things That Make Me Feel Old (and Young) – Part 1

Things that make me feel old:

  1. Awesome Bon Jovi song from high school announced as “retro hit from the 80’s” on the radio.
  2. Explaining to my son what film (for a camera) is and how it works, then seeing the confused look on his face that seems to ask “Why?”  (I didn’t bother to go into how exciting the Polaroid instant pictures were.  We’d crowd around the paper that came out and stare at the black square until our picture magically materialized.  Now that was great!)
  3. Seeing pre-teen girls in barely-there shorts and thinking “they need to put some clothes on.”
  4. Buying wine at the grocery store where a sign states they card anyone who looks under 40 and they don’t ask for my ID.
  5. When I offer to show ID and they look at me and say “That’s okay.”  Bite me.  It’s not okay.  I’m not even forty yet – LOOK AT MY ID.  Please, it’s the best picture I have.  (Sad, but true).

Now I can’t leave all of the negative stuff on the table.  I have to balance the list out with a few things that make me feel young:

  1. When I meet friends for lunch, we laugh like we’re in college *sigh*.
  2. Having my son think it’s cool that I can sing along with the latest Pink or Lady Gaga song.  (Disclaimer:  I know most of the words, and I use the term “sing” loosely)
  3. Laughing at life (it’s either that, or cry).
  4. Falling for a goofy knock-knock joke…and laughing!
  5. Swings.  (Until I swing too high and my stomach lodges in my throat, making me feel like I’m gonna get sick.  Oh boy, this might have to go in the feeling old list now).
2 thoughts on “Things That Make Me Feel Old (and Young) – Part 1

  1. chlost May 6, 2010 / 7:56 PM

    Hi! I checked out your site. Nice. I have decided that when Muzak starts to play rap songs in the elevator, I am officially old. I think I heard an early rap song recently on my way to my doctor’s office………..

    • jannatwrites May 6, 2010 / 8:38 PM

      I hear you. Don’t get me started on Muzak…sometimes I hear a whole song with a vague feeling it’s familiar, but I just can’t place it. Maybe that’s another sign I’m getting old. Hmmm.
      Thanks for stopping by!

Got an opinion? Share it!

