Writing Status

Well, I just finished revision number 4 (or 5…I lost count) of my first manuscript over the weekend.  I’m still 5,000 – 10,000 words long, so I’ll need to get rid of about 28 more pages.  I’m going to put it away for a week or two and come back to it.  I hope I will recognize the parts that should go and can pare it down enough in one go round because I’ll still have to read through the whole thing again to make sure I haven’t lost anything.  Two years ago, I loved the story, but I have to admit, I’m getting a little tired of it.  (It’s kind of like watching the same cartoon over and over with the kids…it’s great the first 10-15 times, but then it becomes a form of torture).

During my break from the first novel, I’ve started my second one; another women’s fiction mystery.  I wrote my first novel in third person, this one is in first person.  I’m only 7 pages into it, but it’s a lot of fun working on something new.  My goal is to write fifteen pages a week…we’ll see how that goes.  The new characters give my tired mind a much-needed break.

Got an opinion? Share it!

