Revisions

I’m having so much fun reworking my manuscript. I’m not being facetious; I’m serious. (No, I’m not into self-inflicted pain.) It’s so cool to struggle with a paragraph until the words finally fall into place. Then, when I read the passage again, I think, “Hey, that doesn’t totally suck!”

I’m not crazy about the changes that impact the story line. When I change a major structural element, then I have to find and fix all references throughout the remainder of the novel. I have a chapter outline that helps, but it’s still a pain.

This revision is kind of like when I reorganize my closet: before I start, it’s just a little messy, and then when I’ve got everything strung out all over the place, it looks like a tornado ripped through it. But after I’ve put everything back properly – WOW! It’s an amazing sight to behold.

My novel is in the tornado stage right now, but I still have hope of experiencing the WOW moment. If it’s not asking too much, I’d like to enjoy it with a full head of hair 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

