Skip to content

Super…Wonderful- Hero

May 3, 2013

Man’s world needed a woman

Ready

To fight for justice, peace, and

Equality.

A wonder of a woman,

To shatter the glass

Ceiling

With bullet-deflecting bracelets,

Gold-encrusted bustier, and

Knee-high boots.

One volunteered.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This is my response to Trifecta’s weekend prompt:

TrifectaPicture11-1This weekend we’re having some fun with the prompt, some super-powered fun, that is. We’re asking you to write the origin story to the superhero of your choice in exactly 33 words.

Okay, so it’s pretty obvious I wrote about Wonder Woman.  I know Wonder Woman was created in the 1940’s, but the image in my mind will always be Lynda Carter.  As a child growing up in the seventies, I watched the TV show in awe.  I wanted to look like that – the bustier, the boots…oh, and those bracelets ROCKED!  Though I admired her looks, the feminist side of me was annoyed at the eye-candy part of her appearance.  Perhaps captivation by cleavage was just another aspect of her super powers?

If you want to read other responses, or try the challenge yourself, click on the tricycle picture to view Trifecta’s site.  Happy writing (and reading!)

Oh, and this is a community-voted challenge, which means that readers have the opportunity to vote on their three favorites after the challenge closes on Sunday, at 8PM eastern time.

73 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2013 9:21 AM

    Wow… Bullet-deflecting bracelet… Wud love to have one ;)
    Nice post.

    • May 3, 2013 2:36 PM

      I’m glad I’m not the only one that thinks it’s cool, September Dreams :)

  2. May 3, 2013 9:26 AM

    My baby just erased what I typed…sigh!

    Once more – I love this Janna! Wonder Woman was my ultimate super hero when I was young. She still is.

    • May 3, 2013 2:38 PM

      My cats do the same thing :) (Kids are too old to want to hang around me!) I was obsessed with the Wonder Woman TV show. I’m glad you’re a fan too, Imelda.

  3. May 3, 2013 12:11 PM

    This super hero exist? A funny and ironic poem!

    • May 3, 2013 2:40 PM

      Well, she exists in fiction, Newwhitebear! Wonder Woman was created as a cartoon in the 1940’s, but Lynda Carter started in a Wonder Woman television series in the 1970’s.

  4. May 3, 2013 1:54 PM

    Wonder Woman is awesome. Great poem

  5. May 3, 2013 1:57 PM

    This has got to be the opening of a story. Strong enough to brush aside any mean comments with only her eyelashes!
    Mucho applause and a showering of gold stars.

  6. unevenstevencu permalink
    May 3, 2013 2:00 PM

    yes we did and still do it seems!

  7. May 3, 2013 2:12 PM

    That was Marvel Comic perfect

  8. May 3, 2013 2:24 PM

    You do have a Wonderwoman costume of your own, right?

    • May 3, 2013 2:44 PM

      I about choked when I read your comment, Coachdaddyblogger! My contribution to humanity is to NOT wear such a costume…ever. No need to thank me :)

      • May 4, 2013 3:33 AM

        At least the bracelets. At least the headband. Wasn’t there a headband?

        • May 5, 2013 7:55 AM

          Yes, there was a headband, Coachdaddyblogger. Won’t work so well with my hair…but the bracelets….oh, yeah, I could totally wear those! (The ladies in my office would be so jealous :))

  9. May 3, 2013 3:40 PM

    I picked her as well….inspiring.

    • May 5, 2013 7:55 AM

      I can’t wait to read it – I didn’t have a computer yesterday so I’m behind!

  10. May 3, 2013 6:58 PM

    Is this autobiographical? You’re wonder woman, right? I live with 4 of them. This is spot on. *clapping*

    • May 5, 2013 7:57 AM

      Hahaha! Not autobiographical at all, really, Lance. But I guess if you think about it, we are all still promoting justice, peace and equality. (Things are better, but in insurance anyway, it’s still very much a man’s world.)

  11. May 3, 2013 7:12 PM

    A light fun read, Janna – thank you, Eric :-)

  12. May 3, 2013 7:48 PM

    I love this! Especially how you brought it shattering the glass ceiling. :)

  13. Scriptor Obscura permalink
    May 3, 2013 10:06 PM

    Nice one, Janna. :) WW was the first superhero that I thought of, the only one I know really, I’m not really into superheros. :)

    • May 5, 2013 7:59 AM

      I’m not really into super heroes either, Scriptor. WW was the only one that came to mind (probably because of my obsession with the TV show and Lynda Carter in the 70s :)) I hope you wrote about her…I’ll be making my way through the responses this morning.

  14. Diane Turner permalink
    May 4, 2013 12:05 AM

    Excellent piece, Janna. Love that you didn’t name her, but called her “A wonder of a woman.” Perfection.

  15. May 4, 2013 4:29 AM

    So now we know who the mild mannered writer-mom is who slips away and Wonder Woman suddenly appears. Fun piece! :)

    • May 5, 2013 8:01 AM

      Hehe…I would make a pretty sorry Wonder Woman, but it’s funny to think of, Lumdog! Thanks for reading and sharing your comment :)

  16. May 4, 2013 7:14 AM

    My late grandpa NEVER missed Wonder Woman. He thought she was beautiful and fascinating. He was right!

    • May 5, 2013 8:03 AM

      He had excellent taste, Debbie! I recall watching it quite a bit, but I had to have watched it in reruns. I was pretty young when it originally aired.

  17. May 4, 2013 8:31 AM

    Very nice Janna! I loved Wonder Woman and Linda Carter!

  18. May 4, 2013 12:54 PM

    Gotta love wonder woman.

  19. May 4, 2013 4:48 PM

    She’s my favorite too. I’m glad i didn’t attempt it. You did a fabulous job.

    • May 5, 2013 8:04 AM

      Thanks, Ann! Now I’m curious who you did write about (I hope you did write one….)

      • May 5, 2013 3:44 PM

        I’m not a big superhero person. Sort of like asking me who my favorite of Stooges.
        I have a sister who is ten years younger. She told all the kids at her elementary school that I was wonder woman. .The chick holds a special place in my heart. Only a little sister can elevate you so high and the entire second grade think it is true.

        • May 5, 2013 9:04 PM

          That story made me laugh – and it is so sweet! I guess when there is that much of an age difference, big sis is like a hero! (I don’t have a sister at all- just an older brother, so I can’t speak to this first-hand :))

  20. May 5, 2013 3:39 AM

    she is perfect as is your description … beautiful portrayal Janna :)

    • May 5, 2013 8:05 AM

      Thanks so much Shreya! I’m glad you enjoyed the poem. The hardest part of writing about WW was keeping it to 33 words.

  21. Draug419 permalink
    May 5, 2013 12:05 PM

    Wonder Woman is wonderful. :D

  22. May 5, 2013 12:06 PM

    It usually takes superhuman willpower to keep a bustier up during a fight, you know. Not that I would know anything about that…*cough* Love this–I remember watching Wonder Woman on television and being half in love with Lynda Carter. Except I coveted her boots. Too weird?

    • May 5, 2013 9:07 PM

      Funny, Tmw! I couldn’t keep a bustier up standing still, so I’d have serious problems :) I’m glad I’m not the only one who adored Lynda Carter. Between her and Jaclyn Smith (Charlie’s Angels) I knew what I wanted to look like when I grew up. Yeah. Didn’t happen!

      Oh, btw, I don’t think it’s weird that you coveted her boots…they were kind of cute…just not practical for crime fighting!

  23. May 5, 2013 12:36 PM

    This is fabulous! Love the line “A wonder of a woman, to shatter the glass ceiling” — brilliantly done Janna!

  24. May 5, 2013 1:14 PM

    Awesome .. loved that jewelry … can’t see a male superhero fighting with cuff-links.

    • May 5, 2013 9:09 PM

      I’m sure James Bond could figure out a cuff link gadget, Bjorn :) You’re right though…men superheroes skip the jewelry (and go for the tights instead ?!)

  25. May 5, 2013 2:00 PM

    Janna,this is beautifully written-love the way it flowed:-)

    • May 5, 2013 9:11 PM

      Thanks, Atreyee! I read your comment response to me about not knowing many of the superheroes. I hope you followed this one even if you don’t know who Wonder Woman is :)

  26. May 5, 2013 4:33 PM

    Well, she is certainly prettier than Batman!
    Scott
    mine: http://kindredspirit23.wordpress.com/2013/05/04/trifecta-writing-challenge-132013/

    • May 5, 2013 9:12 PM

      Haha! (Robin is prettier than Batman, too :) Only kidding!)

      Thanks for stopping by to read, Scott…I just read and commented on your Spiderman post!

  27. May 6, 2013 4:21 AM

    This is great Janna! The idea of her volunteering to fight gender inequality laden with bracelets, bustier and boots brought a smile. Yay for Wonder Woman :-)

    • May 6, 2013 8:10 AM

      Thanks, GodGirl! It is rather ironic, fighting for equality dressed like that- but I like her anyway :)

  28. May 6, 2013 7:34 AM

    Please, JT, tell your ‘feminist side’ to chill… Wonder Woman is the Best Superhero of all… for her crime fighting abilities of course. Congrats on your cleverly layered homage.

    • May 6, 2013 8:11 AM

      Thanks, Ted. Don’t mind my feminist side…she’s just jealous she can’t pull off the costume :lol: Thanks for stopping by to read it!

  29. May 7, 2013 1:05 PM

    Oh, this brings back such memories! I love the creative perspective of your piece, Janna. She’s definitely a wonder of a woman!

    • May 7, 2013 5:41 PM

      Thanks, Sandra! I was surprised, but on the community vote, it tied for first place. I appreciate you stopping by to read it :)

      • May 7, 2013 5:56 PM

        Congratulations, Janna! I must have seen the Trifecta post before the comments went up (I usually get to them right when they’re published). But I am not at all surprised! This was wonderful, and I enjoyed your little commentary about your feminist side, too! :)

        • May 7, 2013 9:13 PM

          Thanks, Sandra. I sure was surprised, but appreciate the votes :) Yeah, my feminist side…she wanted Wonder Woman to put some clothes on. Somehow, I’m guessing she wouldn’t have the same appeal wearing a black pants suit and Mary Janes :grin:

  30. May 18, 2013 4:02 PM

    I agree, Lynda Carter was “it.”

  31. May 19, 2013 6:26 AM

    Congrats on your well-deserved win! This is a great one.

  32. May 19, 2013 2:23 PM

    Just say ditto to all that rangewriter has written.

Got an opinion? Share it!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,270 other followers

