Skip to content

Eleven Questions from Jeanne

December 7, 2012

I hardly ever participate in the blog awards that go around, mainly because I get headaches after scraping the barrel bottom to come up with mildly interesting facts about myself.  Most recently, I have ignored didn’t participate in awards from Debbie at Musings by an ND Domer’s Mom and Becca at Lady or Not…Here I Come.

Sorry, guys.  I am a loser.  There.  I admitted it!

I don’t post the award badges on my blog, either.  I’ve maintained that it’s because I enjoy writing and people reading and commenting is enough for me.  It’s also true that I’m too lazy to add another widget to my sidebar.  Besides, I don’t want to get a big head, thinking I’m better than I really am.  Once I realize my greatness, I’d have to turn my blog into an exclusive club where only members could read my too-good-for-the-public posts.  (For those who are new around here, that last bit was complete sarcasm and expresses the views of my son’s cat.)

On a pedestal looking down?  Not me...that's Lizzy!

On a pedestal looking down? Not me…that’s Lizzy!

I’m skipping the Trifecta weekend prompt because I can’t commit the time to read everyone’s posts and vote this weekend.   Instead, I decided to play along with the Liebster Award that Jeanne at a nola girl at heart recently named my blog to receive.  She made it easy:  all I had to do was answer eleven questions.  I’d like to thank Jeanne now for recognizing my blog and for picking such fun questions to answer.

I’m not officially accepting the award because I couldn’t possibly narrow down 11 blogs to pass it along to.  I read many more than that and they all have something I think is worthwhile.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

1. What happened today that made you smile?  My friend’s plans changed so we can meet earlier tomorrow.  I got a close parking space at Costco tonight (my smile faded by the time I squeezed through the doors, though.)

2. What is your favorite all time movie?  Tough one.  My favorite ‘old’ movie is It Happened One Night.  My favorite color movie…there are several that never get old….but I’ll go with Sleepless in Seattle.

3. Do you have a favorite dessert?  Anything with chocolate…extra chocolate (no nuts)

4.  If you could retire anywhere in the world where would it be?  Somewhere near water.  After spending most of my life in the desert Southwest, I’m dried out!

5.  Are you a winter or summer person?  It depends on where I am.  In Arizona, I detest summer because it’s too hot to do anything.  Here, I prefer fall – it has the best temperatures of any season!  If I lived in a ‘normal’ place, I suspect I’d like summer best.  (Did you see what I did here?  I turned a simple one-word answer into an entire paragraph with extra useless information.)

6.  What’s the last book you read?  The Dovekeepers by Alice Hoffman.

7.  What’s your favorite book?  I couldn’t possibly pick just one.  I like most of Mary Higgins Clark’s books, though.

8.  Do you say Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays?  Merry Christmas.

9.  What’s the longest vacation you have ever taken and where?  In college, I spent a month in California with friends and we spent a week in Hawaii, too.  There was an earthquake the day I left CA to come back home.  It scared me enough that it took six years for me to visit there again.

10.  Are you still friends with any of your childhood friends?  Not really.  I do exchange Christmas cards with one friend from seventh grade, but we don’t talk or write other than that.

11.  What’s the weather like where you live today?  Some people in the U.S. might hate me for this right now (namely the ones buried in snow) but it’s sunny with a high of 78 degrees.  (We survived 110+ degree days in the summer, we deserve a break!)

Enough about me…can you relate to any of my answers?  How would you respond?  I’d love to know more about those who read my blog, so I hope you’ll leave a comment to share :)   Have fun!  

23 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2012 10:20 PM

    Yey! Chocolate lovers unite. :-) I have a Paula Deen chocolate cake cake with chocolate mousse filling and chocolate ganache topping that you might really really like. I commiserate with you with your summer temps. Ayay! I already wilt when the temperature here hits the 90’s and to think I came from the tropics. And speaking of temperature, my son’s lesson today in Science mentioned Arizona. Apparently, there is one place there which holds a Sidewalk Egg-frying contest on the 4th of July. If it is that hot, I think it is one festival that I will skip. :-)

    • December 8, 2012 12:56 AM

      That chocolate cake sounds so good I want to book a flight and try it NOW :)

      I haven’t been to a sidewalk egg-frying contest – when it’s that hot, I stay inside where the air conditioning requires a sweater to keep from freezing. I enjoyed your comment, Imelda. I’m glad you stopped by!

  2. December 7, 2012 10:36 PM

    Okay – you had me at chocolate and then I couldn’t concentrate on the rest of your answers… just re-reading now…

    I’m really bad at responding to awards and I seriously wouldn’t know where to start if I was to go through them and thank people now – bad me!

    I love living near the water and had ‘ocean withdrawals’ when I lived in the city for 12 years (it never went away, no matter how I much I tried to forget about it!) ;)

    I’ve experienced minor tremors, but never an earthquake so I don’t blame you for not wanting to go back to California for a while.

    Congratulations on the award and I love the picture of your son’s cat :D

    • December 8, 2012 1:01 AM

      I couldn’t concentrate on the rest of the questions, Dianne! My husband asked me earlier if I needed some chocolate to get rid of my crankiness. It might have helped :) There have been other award nominations, but I can’t remember them. I much prefer to write fiction rather than write about myself. Back to fiction next week.

      I’m glad you liked the picture of Busy Lizzy. She’s always hanging out on the top tier or the cat tree. I know she thinks she’s better than me (then again, a cat will look down on you when curled up at your feet :)

  3. December 8, 2012 8:18 AM

    The best reward I receive is the comments and that people ACTUALLY read my silly musing as well. Every comment is the best reward!

    • December 9, 2012 10:44 PM

      Couldn’t agree more, Jasmine! I like the part about ACTUALLY reading…to me, it’s not about the number of subscriptions – it’s the people who participate by commenting that make this so much fun :) Thanks so much for stopping by. I’ll be by to check out your blog this week!

      • December 10, 2012 5:22 AM

        Well we look forward to having you come by! I’ll clean up the place LOL!!!

        • December 10, 2012 5:44 AM

          Oh my goodness, please don’t tidy up too much…our else I won’t want to come back to my messy place :lol:

        • December 10, 2012 1:34 PM

          LOL you can stay as LONG as your like!!!

  4. December 8, 2012 1:19 PM

    I definitely relate to your answers, Janna ~ especially # 3, 4, 5, and 11.

    It’s 78 degrees and sunny here too! “It’s the most wonderful time of the year.” And we have about 3 pounds of chocolate on hand to get us through the holiday madness. It doesn’t get much better than this.

    I’m outside reading “Don’t Get Scrooged” and laughing out loud at the idiots who shoot themselves in the foot by being so obnoxious.

    Hope things with your son are on the upswing.

    • December 9, 2012 10:48 PM

      Well, I’ve probably eaten three pounds of chocolate so far this holiday season :) Not necessarily because I’m stressed, though! Your climate is similar in many ways to ours this time of year at least (with the exception of having water where you are!) Here’s to NOT being obnoxious this holiday season, Nancy :)

  5. December 8, 2012 10:51 PM

    Congrats on your award!
    #3, I’ll take extra nuts in my chocolate. #10 I don’t have friends from “before marriage.” I guess we weren’t that good of friends, after all.

    • December 9, 2012 10:50 PM

      I’ll save the nut toppings for you, Patti! I agree with your comment about friends you’ve lost touch with – if the friendships are strong enough, they will withstand life’s changes. Thanks for stopping by and playing along!

  6. December 9, 2012 6:06 AM

    10. Definitely relating. People don’t like to keep in touch. :(

    11. As a rule, if you tell that to anybody here in the East, they will proceed to bludgeon you with whatever school book, lobster trap, tire iron, rolled up New York Times, or stack of museum tickets is handy. Stay away from Boston. :P

    • December 9, 2012 10:54 PM

      Yikes, a book, tire iron or anything paper I can handle…but a lobster trap? Youch! I’ll take your advice and stay away from Boston (but I’d still like to at least visit someday.)

      Keeping in touch with people is hard. I can go days, or even weeks without talking to my best friend even. Luckily, we’ve managed to maintain the friendship. (And my husband doesn’t understand how we can visit for nine hours and still not be done talking!)

      Glad you stopped by, Seph. It’s been awhile (goes back to the keeping in touch part, eh? :lol:)

  7. December 9, 2012 7:33 AM

    9. nice that you got to take such a long vacation to two places. Sorry about the earthquake.
    The longest vacation I ever took was with my family 10 years ago (time flies) camping trip through Wyoming to Montana and back home to Colorado. We picked the kids up at the YMCA camp and drove up to Yellowstone and Glacier National Park. It was the nicest bonding trip with my kids and husband ever. I think we were gone 2 weeks. I took another week off to clean the house and get the kids ready to go back to school. I was so relaxed and refreshed upon returned to work.

    • December 9, 2012 10:57 PM

      Well, Patty, that long vacation was before having a ‘real’ job, marriage or kids!

      I’d love to have a two week camping vacation – especially to Yellowstone. And that extra week to get rested sounds great, too :) I’m glad it was a good one for your family…obviously, you have fond memories of it. Perhaps you can do another trip, even though they’re grown? (I think it was your son who went to Australia, so of course, that might be a little more difficult.)

  8. December 9, 2012 12:58 PM

    Another chocoholic — yeah, me too! And I definitely prefer “Merry Christmas” over “Happy Holidays.” But I do have one friend from junior high that I correspond with on a regular basis — hard to believe we’ve been buddies this long! As for today’s weather, why, it’s yucky. Foggy, cool, and very grey. Congrats on your awards!

    • December 9, 2012 11:00 PM

      Ah, glad to know so many chocoholics around here! To feed my chocolate craving, I found these really yummy Keebler cookies today – they are like the fudge stripe shortbread cookies, except they are dark chocolate. Kind of wish I didn’t buy them :)

      I’m sorry your weather isn’t nice right now. We’re getting wind and are expected to cool down into the 60’s this week…what a difference a couple days make! Glad you stopped by, Debbie.

  9. December 9, 2012 1:01 PM

    I absolutely adore chocolate so any dessert with it is fine in my book. I’m totally with you there. I’d also like to live near the water. It’s funny that you were scared of returning to Cali after that earthquake because I’m from the east coast and plan to move to San Diego. I hear the weather is perfect every day. Where in Cali did you go? Lovely cat, by the way. I love cats. :)

    • December 9, 2012 11:15 PM

      San Diego is beautiful, C.S., I think you’ll like it there! I was visiting Brea, in Orange County, when the earthquake happened. There wasn’t any damage, but it was such a weird feeling.

      I’m glad you like Lizzy – she is one of three cats in the house. She is a sweet girl :) Thanks for stopping by today. I’ll stop by to visit your blog this week!

  10. December 10, 2012 3:08 AM

    Haha, this made me laugh! Fun questions yes, and wonderful answers which tell us more about your life. Hope you get to live near the water one day :-)

    • December 10, 2012 5:49 AM

      I’m glad you enjoyed it GodGirl. In some respects, these types of questions are more difficult than fiction because it feels so revealing (even though I’m sure my fiction leaves me more open than I realize :)) I appreciate you dropping by!

Got an opinion? Share it!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,242 other followers

