Skip to content

Revolt over the Revolting

November 30, 2012

She sat with

arms folded,

brow furrowed,

chin set.

Her mom,

once an ally,

now the adversary

in a visual duel.

The object of contention?  Peas.

“I HATE peath!”

The three-year-old declared, defiant.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This is my entry in the Trifecta weekend challenge, which follows:

TrifectaPicture11-1For the weekend challenge, we’re asking you to write exactly 33 words about rebellion and/or revolt.  Interpret it as you will, just keep it to 33 words.  They arrived at the challenge based on this background:

The Decemberist Revolt took place during the month of December in 19th century Russia when 3,000 soldiers protested Nicholas I’s assumption of the throne on the first day of his reign.  He quickly squashed the revolt, but it impacted his regime as he went on to rule with an iron fist.

I decided to write a different take on rebellion.  I think peas are disgusting.  And, if you’ve ever tried to feed them to a toddler who doesn’t like them, that’s traumatic for all involved.  Talk about a tense stand-off!  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it :)

If you want to write your own entry, click the tricycle picture to view the complete challenge information on Trifecta’s website.  Have a wonderful weekend!

72 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2012 9:43 AM

    Very good. Very funny! And so true

    • November 30, 2012 9:14 PM

      Thanks for reading, Joetwo. Glad you got a laugh out of it. It’s one of those things that isn’t funny at the time, but looking back we can see the humor.

  2. November 30, 2012 9:44 AM

    Love it!

  3. November 30, 2012 9:49 AM

    Haha! Been there done that from both perspectives with one food or other! Cute!!

    • November 30, 2012 9:17 PM

      The one good thing about being a grown up is that I never have to eat peas because I’m the boss of what I eat :) Thanks for reading, Linda.

      P.S. A dozen cookbooks with that cupcake recipe would be great – excellent Christmas gifts :lol: (referring to your response to my comment on your last post.)

      • December 1, 2012 4:09 AM

        Hehe, absolutely! Peas are horrible. I used to swallow them whole like pills, but be glad you have been spared the horrors of the British mushy peas! Literally the stuff of nightmares to a pea hater.

        • December 1, 2012 10:47 PM

          Mushy peas – that gave me a shiver, Knotrune! I believe I’d have to swallow them whole (or wrap them in a napkin and stuff in my pocket.) :lol:

        • December 2, 2012 3:31 AM

          I call them pre-chewed peas :( and flat refuse to have anything to do with them ever! I can’t even look at them without feeling queasy. Even as a child I was stubborn enough to avoid being forced to eat any! I’d advise against using google images to see what I mean…

        • December 2, 2012 2:20 PM

          Well Knotrune, as soon as you advised not to Google the image, that’s exactly what I did. You’re right – they do look pre-chewed. My stomach lurched a little upon seeing them, but you did warn me ;)

        • December 2, 2012 2:59 PM

          You’re as bad as my husband! Tell him not to press the red button as it will bite his arm off and he’d do it :)

        • December 2, 2012 9:57 PM

          What can I say? Curiosity gets the better of me!

  4. November 30, 2012 9:52 AM

    Ha! Clever take on rebellion and SO true. My 3-year-old gets particularly testy about eating anything healthy and/or green.

    • November 30, 2012 9:30 PM

      Three-year-olds have a way of making their voices hear, don’t they? There are still some foods that I rarely/never fix because the fight just isn’t worth it. Glad you stopped by, Tori!

  5. November 30, 2012 11:12 AM

    PEAS.
    The horror.
    Delightful piece! (:

    • November 30, 2012 9:36 PM

      Peas are horrible, Draug! I tried not to inflict my own taste on the kids, but they didn’t like them either (and peas are even less enjoyable when worn. Just sayin’.)

  6. November 30, 2012 11:49 AM

    Oh, that was a good one, Janna! I didn’t much like peas at that age, either.

    • November 30, 2012 9:38 PM

      Thanks for reading, Patti! I still don’t like peas and I think it’s mostly because of the smell.

  7. November 30, 2012 12:39 PM

    This is FANTASTIC, Janna! You made me S~M~I~L~E . . . big. :D

    • November 30, 2012 9:39 PM

      Cool! Glad you smiled when reading this, Nancy. Rebellion usually isn’t funny :) (Just wait til the peas fly!)

  8. November 30, 2012 2:06 PM

    Very clever! I love that the peas are in green.

    • November 30, 2012 9:43 PM

      Thanks, SilverGardenia! I wanted to do more with the formatting, but WordPress and I weren’t getting along :mad: I appreciate you stopping by to read my entry!

  9. November 30, 2012 2:12 PM

    I hate peas too! The battle of the wills is amazing. Nobody wins those! Fun take.

    • November 30, 2012 10:08 PM

      You are so right, Lumdog – in a battle of wills over food, there is no real winner. (But I’d vote for the one wearing the least amount of food.) Thanks for reading (and speaking up about your dislike of peas as well :))

  10. November 30, 2012 3:00 PM

    I can totally relate to that three-year-old! My mom and I used to have many a disagreement over strange foods. I was supposed to at least taste stuff — then, I’d be able to say with certainty that I didn’t like something. Sometimes I’d sit at the table LONG after everyone else had eaten and left!

    • November 30, 2012 10:11 PM

      Me too, Debbie! Eating dinner was often a battle. I also remember not particularly liking eggs and my mom making me finish my eggs. Cold eggs are gross. I can see the point of at least trying the food, but sometimes it’s hard to get past how food smells or looks.

  11. November 30, 2012 7:12 PM

    A great idea for this challenge. I went through this with my kids!

    • November 30, 2012 10:13 PM

      Thanks, Deanabo. I don’t think I know a parent that hasn’t dealt with this :) (One of my kids, it was peas..the other one green beans. I don’t like wearing either one.)

  12. November 30, 2012 7:21 PM

    Oh you set this one up well. Great characterization

    • November 30, 2012 10:14 PM

      Thanks, Phil. I’m glad you enjoyed it! (As always, thanks for reading :))

  13. Scriptor Obscura permalink
    November 30, 2012 8:10 PM

    :) *smiles* :lol: hee hee :)

  14. Scriptor Obscura permalink
    November 30, 2012 8:13 PM

    I love peas, by the way. Especially when they’re frozen. I like them right out of the bag. Also like them cooked. I don’t see what’s so bad about them! Well, everybody has their own tastes! Don’t be mad at me! ;)

    • November 30, 2012 10:17 PM

      Oh I couldn’t possibly be mad at you for liking peas, Scriptor! Besides, if you eat more peas, it leaves less for someone to try to serve me :)

      By the way, I agree that frozen peas are great….as an ice pack!

      • Scriptor Obscura permalink
        November 30, 2012 10:28 PM

        Ha ha…*smiles* :lol: :)

  15. November 30, 2012 11:04 PM

    *hahaha* I have to say, I am lucky in that my kids (3 1/2 and 1 1/2) love veggies. The toddler’s favorite food is broccoli. :) But this made me laugh out loud and get funny looks from my partner.

    • December 1, 2012 12:03 AM

      I’m glad your kids like veggies, Christine. It makes life a lot easier. My kids like most veggies – broccoli included. (And they absolutely love spinach.) My younger son hates potatoes….doesn’t matter if they are baked, mashed, scalloped, shredded, fried- he will not eat them. His taste definitely doesn’t fit in with the rest of the family :) Thanks for reading and laughing along with me!

  16. unevenstevencu permalink
    December 1, 2012 12:07 AM

    Great response to the prompt – well written! Thanks for commenting on my blog – I responded back there

    • December 1, 2012 10:13 AM

      Thanks so much, Uneven Steven! I enjoy reading your poetry – and I thank you for the kind comment on your blog.

  17. December 1, 2012 5:19 AM

    Wrinkled, ugly things.
    Unless they’re fresh out of the garden. Then, they’re lovely.

    • December 1, 2012 10:14 AM

      Maybe that’s my problem, Kelly…frozen is the closest to fresh I’ve ever had.

  18. December 1, 2012 9:05 AM

    I don’t like peas either. Vive la revolution! :)

    • December 1, 2012 10:15 AM

      Pea haters unite? Nah, nothing good comes from people uniting in hate :) Thanks for stopping by, Michael!

  19. December 1, 2012 4:34 PM

    This SO reminds me of when my children were young. Fantastic, Janna! :D

  20. December 1, 2012 5:58 PM

    Perfect! I can just see the peas all over the place, rolling and rolling and rolling. :-)

  21. December 1, 2012 7:04 PM

    I think peas are ‘revolting’ too. Funny piece.

    • December 1, 2012 10:37 PM

      It seems a few of us think the same way, Tara. Glad you found the humor in it all :)

  22. December 1, 2012 7:39 PM

    This is lovely.

  23. December 1, 2012 8:07 PM

    Hahaha wonderful! The epic struggle of mother and child. Good work Jenna

    • December 1, 2012 10:41 PM

      Thanks, Papparaci! Kids definitely have their own opinions about what tastes good.

  24. December 1, 2012 9:12 PM

    oh my goodness . . . we DID both have the same idea. :) My piece was written with my 4 grandsons in mind . . . they all have hollow legs now . . . we have trouble keeping them fed. :)

    • December 1, 2012 10:45 PM

      Yes, we both picked on peas, but in different ways! There are some days when the kids seem to be hungry constantly. I swear I think they’ll explode but they don’t. It’s normal for growing boys, I guess :) Thanks for reading, Barbara.

  25. December 1, 2012 11:25 PM

    ‘peath’ … love it!

    • December 2, 2012 2:16 PM

      Thanks, Widdershins! I had fun with this one (then again, I always do :))

  26. December 2, 2012 4:23 AM

    My kids will actually eat peas. But I could’ve subbed in a thousand other things there. Nice job!

    • December 2, 2012 2:22 PM

      Every kid has their own aversions. Neither of mine will eat peas and they’re old enough now I don’t push the issue (they will ask why I’m not eating any :lol:)

  27. Kir Piccini permalink
    December 2, 2012 6:30 AM

    oh yes, I am knee deep in the middle of this stuff and it was so real, the dialouge so perfect. But it’s the lisp that nails it, the trace of babyhood left. LOVED THIS.

    • December 2, 2012 2:27 PM

      Thanks, Kir! I haven’t met a parent yet whose child liked everything put before them. And of course, they get more vocal as they get older :)

  28. December 2, 2012 8:22 AM

    I wrote a whole post about my childhood and standoff with my mother over peaths. So of course, I love this because she is me!

    • December 2, 2012 2:29 PM

      Hahaha! I bet that was a funny post, Gina. There were lots of foods I didn’t like (still am a picky eater) so I can’t remember one particular instance. I do, however, remember the day she quit forcing me to eat when I said I wasn’t hungry. She made me eat that corndog anyway, and it wasn’t the last she saw of it. To this day, I refuse to eat corndogs and the smell makes me queasy.

  29. December 2, 2012 12:03 PM

    Feeling sorry for this mother in ten years’ time! (And I confess, I am a pea lover.)

    • December 2, 2012 2:33 PM

      True enough…first it’s peas, next it’s the micro mini skirt, then the boy that’s nothing but trouble :) Thanks for reading, Kymm. You can have my peas, okay?

  30. December 2, 2012 9:03 PM

    Ha! Little tyrant. If the revolt was against me, my reaction would depend on how tired I am. If I am not too tired, those peas will find their way back in the tyrant’s mouth. If I am very tired, I’d make a lame effort to feed the peas to the tyrant anyway, and then give up.

    • December 2, 2012 9:45 PM

      I’m with you on your game plan, Imelda. I often chose the avoidance path and saved myself the headache of not feeding the offending food to them. Now that the kiddos are older, I tell them that there’s no snacks or dessert unless they finish their dinner. The usually choose to finish dinner (with a fair amount of complaining.)

  31. December 2, 2012 9:26 PM

    Very cute but, holy cow, you’re right. We ARE on the same wavelength this weekend. Okay … what’s our plan for NEXT weekend? :)

    • December 2, 2012 9:54 PM

      At least you had the cute picture of an upset child. So much for me thinking I had a ‘different’ take on rebellion! :lol:

  32. December 7, 2012 6:50 AM

    Good blog. Enjoy the weekend.

Got an opinion? Share it!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,346 other followers

