Skip to content

Distraction

November 25, 2012

I look

But sometimes I don’t see;

I miss

What’s right in front of me.

I observe

The beauty of a day;

Torn by

What might be in my way.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

My husband worked on Friday, so I was on my own with the kids.  We planned our day that morning and they kept me running well into the afternoon.  I had to laugh when I went to shred some junk mail and noticed this note on my computer keyboard:

“Stay off your computer or else”
(Even threats with misspellings should be taken seriously :))

It seems that my “sneaking” a few minutes blog reading while the kids are reading, doing homework, or playing do not go unnoticed.  This surprised me, because even if I’m in the same room when they are doing those things, they don’t pay any attention to me anyway.

I knew my older son wrote the note (he’s not one for subtlety.)  Of course, I had no intention of powering on my computer that day.  Fresh off the Thanksgiving holiday, I wanted to make sure my attention wasn’t taken from two of the people I’m thankful to have in my life.  When I teased him about the note, he said I was “always” on the computer.

I can see how it seems like that to him, but the truth is I have lots of things that distract me from my priorities.  (Note:  sadly, housekeeping is not one of my priorities or distractions.)  There are times when I think I’m dedicating time to appreciate what I’m thankful for, but an honest look tells me that I’m prone to distraction.

I’m thankful for my son’s reminder that undivided attention cannot be divided.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18)

26 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2012 3:05 AM

    Hehe, kids don’t let us parents get away with much do they?! I can totally relate. Your son’s note made me smile too :-)
    I really like your poem, and the way the photo illustrates how we can miss the beauty that exists in the background of our momentary focus and desire.
    Great last line too.

    • November 25, 2012 9:55 PM

      No, they don’t let anything slip by by, GodGirl! I didn’t do anything with the blog all weekend, until today. It’s taken a bit to catch up, but I’m almost there. The time away was worth it. I’m glad you stopped by and liked the post.

  2. November 25, 2012 6:37 AM

    You are filled with wisdom, Janna. Blessings to you…

    • November 25, 2012 9:57 PM

      Thanks, Carol Ann…but I don’t generally associate wisdom with myself :)

  3. November 25, 2012 6:40 AM

    I want to mention your verses. Simply written with power, they perfectly illustrate the work of distractions in our lives.

    • November 25, 2012 9:58 PM

      I’m glad you liked the poem, Carol Ann! Distractions are funny that way…they steal our attention in a stealthy manner and we often don’t even see it happening.

  4. November 25, 2012 8:57 AM

    That’s so great . . . misspelling and all. Loved the poem too.

    • November 25, 2012 10:02 PM

      Oh that note cracked me up. And when I asked him about it, I saw the flicker of recognition in his eyes even as he denied writing it. It was fun teasing him about it. Glad you enjoyed reading the story about it, Nancy!

  5. November 25, 2012 10:57 AM

    Beautiful post, loved the poem. Keep up the great work!

    • November 25, 2012 10:04 PM

      Thanks, APaN. So happy you liked the poem and took the time to let me know :)

  6. November 25, 2012 12:39 PM

    Thanks for this. My girls have always helped me to know what matters most, and why.

    • November 25, 2012 10:05 PM

      Kids have a way of doing that, Ajorgenson. I think children are gifts from God, and this is one reason why. Thanks for your visit!

  7. November 25, 2012 1:55 PM

    I love this post, Janna. Your son sounds like such a sweetheart :) And your poem is truly beautiful! ;D

    • November 25, 2012 10:07 PM

      I appreciate your kind words, Dianne. Yes, my older son is general a sweetie. It feels good when he wants to spend time with me. Who knows ho long that will last!

  8. November 25, 2012 7:23 PM

    Love the note from your son! That’s is hilarious!! Thanks for sharing it!

  9. November 26, 2012 9:50 AM

    I’m still waiting for the day I get called out by the kiddos for how much time I spend on the computer for bloggy things. DH just made a comment the other night–notably for my eye health–but I countered by blaming it on #NaBloPoMo. Can’t wait for that to be done since I really need a break. :) Cute note from your son, and beautiful poem you wrote, too! (I almost missed the poem since it was on the side of the pic!)

    • November 28, 2012 12:07 AM

      I’m glad you didn’t miss the poem, Sandra. I like to play around with the formats and some work better than others :) It may be only a matter of time before your kids try to pull an intervention by leaving you notes :) I couldn’t imagine writing a post every day. I don’t know how you’ve managed to keep up!

  10. November 26, 2012 11:36 AM

    The note is funny. It is amazing how your kids express how they want you to pay attention to them. My son’s way of telling me to pay attention to him was to be annoying and it wore on me greatly. I hope you enjoyed your day together on post Thanksgiving Friday.

    • November 28, 2012 12:14 AM

      Oh, my sons often go the ‘annoying’ route to get attention. It can be so frustrating! Thanks for stopping by, Patty. We did enjoy Friday, but the time sure passed quickly.

  11. November 26, 2012 12:41 PM

    Priceless, Janna! You’re blessed, you know, that your son not only noticed your absence but also managed to let you know he missed you! Better enjoy that while you can!

    • November 28, 2012 12:50 AM

      I know, right? It makes me sad to think the time will come when he doesn’t want to spend time with me. But those days will come whether I like it or not.

  12. November 27, 2012 9:30 PM

    Your children sound like my children, except that yours are a little older. Children do notice things about their folks. My sons love making impressions of me – and oh boy! they are not flattering. :-D

  13. November 28, 2012 12:52 AM

    Oh, mine do impressions, too. I like to think I don’t sound like that, but I have a feeling they are spot-on. Children are perceptive, Imelda. I think so much more than what many adults give them credit for.

  14. November 30, 2012 10:32 PM

    I’m surprised I haven’t gotten a note like that from my hubby! lol I’d better hide this post!

    • November 30, 2012 11:56 PM

      My husband is kicking himself for not thinking of it first (but it wouldn’t be as cute coming from him anyway :))

Got an opinion? Share it!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,337 other followers

