Skip to content

Decoration or Disaster?

November 12, 2012

Email from boss:  Thank you for a fun Birthday.  I know it will be just as fun plotting my revenge celebrating each of your next birthdays as well.  It was interesting seeing how my office was so thoroughly trashed thoughtfully decorated.  The glittery confetti provided lots of aggravation entertainment and I will get to continue cursing enjoying it as the darn pieces delightfully surprise me as I continue to find them within the papers on my desk.  I must say though, the gift card was very generous and the only thing that will save each of you totally unnecessary.

There may or may not have been a confetti gun involved…

Response 1:  You are very welcome.  It just warms my heart to see the contempt appreciation we so richly deserve.  I can’t wait for next year!

Response 2:  I’m so glad you loathe appreciate our evil thoughtful celebration of your birthday (at 140, you’re still quite witty :).)  We dread look forward to your revenge celebration of our birthdays as well.  We know you value our deviousness ingenuity and our ability to exceed the bar – wherever you set it.

Thanks again for being such an easy target cooperative boss.

Would you believe me if I told you I had nothing to do with this…it was all my coworkers’ fault?

28 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2012 6:15 PM

    Nope

  2. November 12, 2012 6:45 PM

    erm … no.

    • November 12, 2012 7:17 PM

      Wha–? I may have been aware of the goings on, but I swear I didn’t shoot the confetti gun.

  3. November 12, 2012 7:44 PM

    Haha, this is great! Let us know what his ‘payback’ is like :-)

    • November 12, 2012 8:42 PM

      Will do, GodGirl. The only problem is that only one of us will have a birthday before April Fool’s Day. We are planning something good for April Fool’s, which may seal our birthday fate :)

  4. November 12, 2012 8:11 PM

    I remember similar shenanigans on YOUR birthday . . . or maybe it was his birthday last year.

    Either way, sounds like you work in a FUN place. :D

    • November 12, 2012 8:45 PM

      It was probably both, Nancy. We all get our work spaces trashed decorated for our birthdays. The boss gets an added bonus of April Fool’s though :)

    • November 12, 2012 8:47 PM

      It may have been April Fool’s day. :razz:

      • November 12, 2012 8:58 PM

        I think I did do a post on that…when he hung anything we could from the ceiling. Funny….I got blamed for that one, too!

  5. November 12, 2012 8:19 PM

    I remember computers so full of confetti you couldn’t push the keys down. or roll the mouse around.

    • November 12, 2012 8:50 PM

      Ah, confetti in the keyboard is challenging to get out. The day after his birthday, we kept sneaking in a few pieces of confetti onto his desk throughout the day. Nearly drove him nuts, but we blamed it on age :lol:

  6. November 12, 2012 8:29 PM

    Happy Birthday hahaha

    • November 12, 2012 8:52 PM

      There’s a birthday decoration box and it pretty much gets emptied into the workspace of the birthday person. We have about thirty people in the office, so the decorations get some mileage!

  7. November 12, 2012 10:32 PM

    No wonder some people are secretive about birth dates!

  8. November 12, 2012 10:46 PM

    Hahaha! Love this! What a fun workplace you must have. Now – April Fools Day: Last year me and my co-workers decided to have a little fun. Leading up to the day we all (separately) discussed with our boss things that were going on in our families/ applying for promotions / talking about trips / etc. Then on the day, one by one we all told our boss we were leaving for one reason or another. He was frantic! It didn’t even click with him when his ‘prize’ staff member told him they were leaving to join the circus! It was very funny – but he did hate us for a long time ;)

    • November 13, 2012 8:48 PM

      It can be fun sometimes (I try to remember that during the times it isn’t so exciting :))

      Great story, Dianne…thanks for sharing it. I think that trick you played on your boss is great. The planning ahead (discussions prior to April Fools) helped, I’m sure. (We won’t try that with out boss…he’d probably be grateful that we saved him the trouble of having to fire us!

  9. November 13, 2012 4:37 AM

    Hahaha. Awesome.

  10. November 13, 2012 5:39 AM

    Well played. Your workplace sounds like fun. :P

    • November 13, 2012 8:49 PM

      It’s not too bad most of the time, Michael. More goof off days like that and it would be perfect!

  11. November 13, 2012 7:52 AM

    It’s surprises like this that make me miss working in an office, Janna! Looks like you all had a blast decorating, and I imagine your boss “knew” it was coming. Sure, the paybacks will come, too, but part of the fun is seeing how “interesting” you can make them. Be sure to follow up on this story — inquiring minds, you know!

    • November 13, 2012 8:54 PM

      I’ve met some people who didn’t take kindly to this at all…those people aren’t any fun. If my boss exhibited that annoyance, we’d leave him alone. Instead, he shakes his head, pretends irritated…then goes and tells everyone to come look at what we did. He’s encouraging bad behavior :) He still has the framed pictures in his office from employee appreciation day last year. (The company gave everyone picture frames, so we all took pictures of each other fake sleeping in various positions and left them on his desk. That was fun, too.)

      I’ll keep you posted on what happens next, Debbie. Our birthdays aren’t until the second half of the year…but April Fools might be good if we can pull it off.

  12. November 13, 2012 10:57 AM

    …and this is what grown ups do at work! – that’s the secret we keep from our kids!

    • November 13, 2012 8:54 PM

      And the kids wonder why we’re so tired after a long day at “work” :)

Got an opinion? Share it!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,241 other followers

